Exactly What’s in a Teaching Portfolio?

For those inclined towards an academic career, the Society for Historical Archaeology has a couple of practical blog posts on the application and interview process.

First is Stacy Lynn Camp on what to send when you’re asked for a teaching portfolio:

My teaching portfolio comprised of qualitative and quantitative data from my teaching evaluations, letters of support from professors who supervised me as their teaching assistant, letters of support from former students, handouts and assignments from my classes, syllabi from courses I hoped to teach at the University of Idaho, examples of graded papers and my feedback on student assignments, a faculty member’s assessment of my teaching in the classroom. and, perhaps most importantly, my teaching philosophy statement.

Read the rest (with references on pedagogy!) at the SHA blog.

Leave a comment